Interview on Gangleri’s Grove

March 18, 2017

My friend and colleague Galina Krasskova did an interview with me recently for her blog, Gangleri’s Grove. While you’re there, be sure to take a look at all the other things she’s up to; I don’t know of anybody who does as much for the polytheist movement in so many ways as Galina does. She’s a continuing inspiration to me.

Polytheistic Voices: Interview with Dr. Edward Butler

 

4 Responses to “Interview on Gangleri’s Grove”

  1. TPWard said

    I feel I have a better grasp of your dissertation now. I may someday feel ready to try to read it.

  2. ganglerisgrove said

    Thank you, Edward. your work continues to inspire me!

  3. Thanks for sharing this interview. I found it intriguing as I also came to polytheism through a combination of philosophy and personal experience. I’d always had a sense of something calling me through philosophy (which I studied to MA level and began a PhD in) to depth, to truth – as an explanation of mystical experiences. I found a near match in Nietzsche’s Dionysian ecstasy and Apollinian vision, but it wasn’t those gods I was experiencing. Finally I met my patron, Gwyn ap Nudd, and realised he and the spirits of Annwn/’fairies’ were behind my experiences.

    I find it interesting that you were steered toward philosophy from a ‘predominantly artistic orientation’. I seem to have gone in the opposite direction – from the academic study of philosophy to expressing my spiritual path through myth, poetry and storytelling. I think both lead to ‘the truth’ via different routes.

    I also agree with you about the need for polytheists to study philosophy so they can ‘conceptualise their experience of the gods’ and ‘critique the intellectual legacy of hegemonic monotheism.’ Without reading Derrida and the deconstructionists I wouldn’t be equipped to engage in my current work deconstructing the legacy of Arthurian Imperialism in Brythonic mythology.

    • Edward P. Butler said

      I wasn’t aware of your background in philosophy, but it doesn’t surprise me, given your combination of erudition and insight, which would have been a credit to the field had you continued. While I still write the occasional poem, I don’t think that a great deal was lost by my not continuing in that vein, much less the other threads I dropped along the way.

      In a certain regard, though, I still consider myself simply a writer. This is why my work on the so-called “Book of Thoth”–“Opening the Way of Writing: Semiotic Metaphysics in the Book of Thoth”–is so close to my heart, because it’s about an initiatory path of the writer, specifically.

Leave a Reply

